How to Share an Account
To share an account, you need to go to the app settings, select iCloud Sync and then select 'Shared Accounts'. Then you need to enable sharing and select the accounts you want to share. After that, you will be asked to provide emails of iCloud accounts that should have access to the share. Once you complete that step, a share link will be generated and you will be asked to send it to the share participants. A share participant will have to open that link on his device to accept the share and start using it.
You can always change what accounts you want to share and who you want to share them with in the app settings.
How It Works
The best way to illustrate that is to provide an example. Bob has two accounts: "Visa" and "Savings". He decides to share "Visa" account with his wife Alice. Alice will have full access to all transactions on the "Visa" account, she will be able to create new transactions there and also delete or edit existing ones. Every time she starts creating a new transaction on the "Visa" account, she will be able to select from all categories/tags/payees that Bob has ever used. Those would be his metadata records, not her. She will also be able to select from transaction descriptions that Bob previously used on his "Visa" account (but not on the "Savings" account).
Shared Accounts Limitations
There are no significant limitations in regards to shared accounts. The only limitations are related to a case when someone is sharing an account with you.
- you can't delete or edit an account that someone is sharing with you. You can only hide it in the app settings.
- if you create a scheduled transaction with an account that is being shared with you, it will not be synced with your personal iCloud database.
- if you create a transfer between your personal account and an account that is being shared with you, the app will create two neutral (balancing) transactions instead.
What Else Can Be Shared
You can also share budgets, scheduled transactions and account folders.
Shared Budgets Limitations
Shared budgets physically remain in the iCloud account of the original owner, meaning that there are some limitations. Points below apply only if you have a budget that is being shared with you:
- you can't edit or delete a budget that someone else has shared with you.
- only transactions that you create on shared accounts will apply for shared budgets.
- shared budgets are not updated immediately, they have to be updated on the owner's device first.
Shared Scheduled Transactions Limitations
Please keep in mind the following:
- the person you are sharing scheduled transactions with will have read-only access. He won't be able to process, edit, delete or perform any other operations with your scheduled transactions.
- the app will share all scheduled transactions that are associated with your shared accounts. For example, if a shared scheduled transaction is created for a non-shared account, it won't be shared too.
- scheduled transactions are displayed in a separate tab in the scheduled transactions section of the app.
Shared Accounts and Reports
Transactions created in shared accounts are automatically included in reports. If you have an account that is being shared with you, it can be excluded from reports. There is a relevant option in report settings for that.
To share accounts & budgets with someone else, you need to have the premium version of the app. Premium benefits are not shared, meaning that if the other person wants to have more than two accounts displayed, he will need to purchase his own premium version.